Open navigation

五法 - Goho

The five basic cooking methods of raw (cutting), simmering, grilling, steaming, and deep-frying. Nama (raw: cutting) means sashimi, Niru (simmering) means simmered dishes, Yaku (grilling) means grilled dishes, Musu (steaming) means steamed dishes, and Ageru (deep-frying) means deep-fried dishes. Basic kaiseki cuisine always includes dishes prepared using these five cooking methods.

scroll down

Nama (Raw: Cut)

There is no other cuisine in which the technique of "cutting" is as important as in Japanese cuisine. It is also a manifestation of the characteristic of Japanese cuisine that many foods, including sashimi, are eaten raw. The chef's skills and sensibilities have a great influence on which part, size, and how to cut the ingredients.

Niru (Simmering)

A cooking method that heats ingredients with water, dashi, and liquid seasonings to make them tastier and concentrate all the flavour in the ingredients.

Yaku (Grilling)

It is characterized by different uses depending on the purpose, such as cooking by direct heat using charcoal or gas, or indirectly by placing cooking utensils such as pots and frying pans.

Ageru (Deep-frying)

A cooking method that heats ingredients using oil as a medium. The rapid evaporation of water makes the food crispy, and at the same time, it allows the food to be cooked rapidly in a short time without losing the umami of the ingredients.

Musu (Steaming)

A cooking method that uses steam to heat food. In Japanese cuisine, there are a great many dishes that use the steaming method, and steamed dishes are made with a variety of purposes and forms.